Agent Guide

Usergroups


You may want some users to have a different level of access to the helpdesk than others.

For example, your company may want chat to be accessible only to users who pay for a premium support package, or to accept feedback only from registered users of your product/service.

Deskpro supports this by having usergroups which grant different levels of permissions: these determine what areas of the web portal the users in the group can see, and what helpdesk functions they can use.

Your admins control what usergroups your helpdesk has and what permissions they grant.

Here are some example usergroups a helpdesk might have:

  • Registered - all users who are registered with the helpdesk
  • Power Users - advanced users who know your product well
  • Trial Users - users who are evaluating your product with a free trial
  • VIPs - users who pay extra for priority support

Some examples of possible access limitations you could enforce with usergroups:

  • only Power Users can see advanced configuration articles on the Knowledgebase, and submit comments on portal content without needing agent approval
  • only Trial Users can access chat with the sales department
  • only VIPs can access chat with the support department

Note that each user can belong to multiple usergroups, and is granted the combined permissions of them all.

In the example above, if User A is a member of Power Users and VIPs, they can see advanced articles, submit comments without approval and access chat with the support department.

Usergroup permissions apply to agents as well as users. If users must belong to a certain usergroup to see the News section of the portal, then you as an agent won’t be able to see it unless you are part of that usergroup.

Managing usergroups

Open a user in the content pane and look at the Usergroups section (lower right) to see their usergroups.

../_images/crm-usergroups-viewuser.png

Click the gear icon to see all usergroups.

../_images/usergroups-select.png

Use the checkboxes to select the user’s usergroups. Click Save to keep your choices, or Cancel to close the section without saving your changes.

You can also see usergroups in the filter pane of the CRM app.

../_images/crm-filterpane-usergroups.png

Note

Usergroups with no members will not be shown in the filter pane.

You can also link an Organizations to a usergroup, so that all the users in that organization will automatically be added to the usergroup. Linking organizations to usergroups (see Organizations).

Guest and registered users

By default, even guest users - those who aren’t signed in to the portal - have some permissions. For example, most helpdesks allow guests to browse the web portal and see articles, news posts etc. without logging in.

Note

Guest permissions are set by admins using a usergroup called Everyone.

There is also a Registered usergroup which grants permissions to all registered users (the requirements to be registered can vary depending on the helpdesk setup, from simply emailing a ticket address to registering and being approved by an agent).

Comments (0)

Add a comment

Add a comment

You need to log in before you can submit a comment.

Need a password reminder?