Account preferences

The Agent Interface

You can edit your account preferences from the Preferences link within the profile drop-down menu at the top-right of the agent interface header.

Account-Preferences.jpg

A pop up will appear displaying your profile settings:

Profile-pic.png

Account profile

In the account profile, you can manage your account and set the following options:

  • Name - this is displayed to your fellow agents in the agent interface; by default it will be used in email messages to users and on the web portal.
  • Override Name - a name that is displayed to users instead of the name your fellow agents see. If you enter an override name, it will be used instead of the Name field in all user-facing communications (both in email and on the portal).
  • Email - your main email address and any additional email addresses you want to use.
  • Phone Number - if your helpdesk is configured to send SMS text notifications, you must enter your cellular/mobile phone number here to receive them
  • Change Password - you can use this to change your account password
  • Timezone - specify what timezone your helpdesk is in to ensure times are displayed correctly. Users can have their own timezone settings, so you should set this to the timezone where you actually work. Daylight Savings/Summer Time is handled automatically.
  • Language - set your preferred language. For some languages, this will change the language of the agent interface, provided your admins have installed the correct language pack.
  • Picture - depending on your permissions, you may be able to upload a picture to represent you. This will be displayed both in the agent/admin interface and on the user portal. You can change your picture by uploading a new one at any time.
  • Desktop Notifications - with some browsers, you can receive pop-up notifications on your computer desktop about helpdesk events (such as when a ticket is assigned to you). See the section on Account preferences below for more details.
  • Tickets - you can change the behavior of the agent interface for replying to tickets here. The options are:
    • Automatically close ticket tabs when replying/adding a note - this closes the ticket as soon as you reply to it or write a note (see Replying to a ticket) to fellow agents.
    • Show newest messages first - by default, ticket messages are shown with newer messages at the top of the list; deselect this to reverse the order.
    • Automatically load the next ticket in the list after replying means that if you reply to a ticket and Automatically close ticket tabs is enabled, the next ticket in the list pane will automatically open; enabling this is useful if you often have to work through a list of tickets in order.
  • Chat - you can choose to immediately dismiss a notification that a user has requested a Chat session when another agent answers
  • Default team - Agent Teams are a way to assign tickets to groups of agents. When you start to automate the helpdesk, some automatic processes will assign a ticket to your default team. If you are a member of more than one team, you should set this to be your main or most important team.
  • API Token reset - this is for integration between Deskpro and external apps and services; use this option if your admins tell you to.
  • Setup device token - you can use this QR code to log into the helpdesk.

Signature

You can create a rich text signature that’s automatically displayed at the bottom of your messages when you reply to a ticket. You should include a sign off and your name so that you don’t have to type them every time you reply to a user.

If you have enabled an override name, remember to use the same name in your signature.

../_images/signature-editor.png

The image6 button enables you to insert an image into the body of the signature. You can either Upload an image file from your desktop, or select Link to provide the web address of an image file. If you use a web address, make sure it’s on a site your organization controls.

../_images/img-upload-sig.png

The link icon button enables you to insert a clickable web link or email address into your signature. See the section Replying to a ticket for details.

Notification preferences

These settings control what notifications you get about helpdesk events. Your admins may not have given you permission to change your notifications.

../_images/notification-prefs-annotated.png

There are two main kinds of notifications that Deskpro can send: email notifications (which are simply emails sent to your Deskpro account address) and browser notifications.

Browser notifications are shown in the notification tray to the right of the toolbar. The tab icon in your browser will also display the number of notifications and will flash when you have a new notification. You’ll only see browser notifications if you’re logged in to the agent interface.

Notifications.png

If you’ve enabled desktop notifications, when you receive a browser notification you will also get a pop-up alert on your computer desktop. The exact appearance will vary depending on your operating system.

Browser-Notification.png

There are two notifications tabs:

  • Ticket Notifications - set email and browser notifications about ticket events and @mentions (see Replying to a ticket details about @mentions). Note that you can set different notification options for tickets that match certain filters.
  • Notifications - set what notifications you want to receive about non-ticket events: chats, tasks, feedback, publish content (new feedback and comments), CRM (new user registration). You can also opt to receive an email every time your account is logged into or there’s a failed login attempt.

Macro preferences

From here you can create Macros to automatically perform sequences of actions. You can either create personal macros that only you can use, or shared macros that everyone can access. If other agents have to do the same task that you’ve written a macro for, consider making it shared, to save them having to come up with their own version.

../_images/macros-prefs.png

Your Admins can see everyone’s macros, so contact them if you need help making a macro work.

Note that you can’t run a macro if you don’t have permissions to do all the actions it includes. If you run a macro and don’t have the right permissions, you will receive a pop-up warning. Speak to your Admin to resolve this issue.

Filter preferences

This shows your Custom filters. You can create filters here or from the filter pane of the Tickets app.

../_images/filters-prefs.png

You can hide custom filters from here if you don’t want to see them in the filter pane.

SLA preferences

This option lets you control which SLAs (Service Level Agreements) you see in the Ticket app. If there are SLAs which are not relevant to you, you can choose not to see when tickets are warning or failing because of them.

../_images/sla-prefs.png

You can hide SLAs just as you can with filters. You can also choose whether to show all the tickets for a certain SLA, or just those that are assigned to you or to your one of your teams.

Published: 22/03/2017

Last updated: 22/08/2019