Setting ticket defaults

Agent Interface Options

Under Tickets > Settings > Ticket Defaults, you can configure the default values for the agent interface when the agent is creating or replying to a ticket.

../_images/agent-reply-options.png

You can change these to reflect how your agents use Deskpro. Pick defaults which reflect what agents do most often to increase their productivity.

For example, when an agent is replying to an unassigned ticket, the default is to assign it to that agent when the reply is sent, unless the Agent checkbox is cleared. If this default does not reflect how your agents use Deskpro, you can change it.

The options available are:

  • New Ticket defaults
    • Set status - choose the default status when creating a new ticket
    • Set agent (when ticket is unassigned) - choose whether to assign to self or leave ticket unassigned
    • Set team (when ticket has no team)
    • User notification - choose whether to check the “send user email notification” checkbox by default; if you disable this, agents must manually select for the user to receive an email notification of the new ticket
    • Enable drafts - choose whether to enable Creating a ticket. You can disable this if you have problems with new ticket drafts or your agents find it confusing. Note that this does not affect saving drafts for replies to existing tickets, which cannot be disabled.
  • Ticket Reply defaults
    • Set status - choose the default status when replying
    • Set agent (when ticket is unassigned)
    • Set agent (when ticket is already assigned)
    • Set team (when ticket has no team)
    • Set team (when ticket is already assigned to a team)
    • User notification - choose whether to check the “send user email notification” checkbox by default; if you disable this, agents must manually select if the user receives their reply by email (not recommended unless users regularly check the portal)
    • Automatically set status - when changing the assigned agent from the reply box, choose whether to automatically change the status to Awaiting Agent (since normally if an agent is assigning the ticket to another agent, that agent is likely to be the next person to reply)
    • Automatically enable “close tab” - when changing the status to Resolved from the reply box, choose whether to automatically check the “close tab after reply” option.

Note that these settings only affect defaults when agents reply via the agent interface, not if they reply via email. You may want to automatically assign tickets to the agents who reply to them by email. You can do this with Triggers.

  • Ticket View
    • Reverse message order - choose whether to show newest messages first with the reply box at the top.

This lets you select the default order that agents see the messages on a ticket, newest at top or oldest at top:

../_images/message-orders.png

Agents can change this for themselves using the agent interface Preferences. The agent Preferences setting overrides the default you select here.

Published: 24/03/2017

Last updated: 27/10/2017