Deskpro tracks the status of a ticket. Status tells you whether it’s an agent or the user that needs to act next - or if there’s no need to act at all, e.g. the issue is resolved.
A single ticket might be assigned back and forth between several agents, and go through several different statuses, before it is resolved or deleted. You can view the details of a ticket’s history when you open it in the content pane.
The most important statuses for a ticket are:
A ticket will often go back and forth between the ‘awaiting agent’ and ‘awaiting user’ statuses a few times before it is resolved.
An example ticket lifecycle:
As you will see later, when you write your reply to a ticket, you can decide what status to give it.
Usually you would reply and set the status to ‘awaiting user’ (this is the default option when you just press the reply button).
In some cases, you might reply and set the status to ‘awaiting agent’ if you are telling the user that you’re assigning the ticket to a different agent, or reassuring them that you’re working on the problem and will get back to them.
The goal for most tickets will be to get them to ‘resolved’ status.
Resolved tickets can be re-opened by agents (and possibly by users; this depends on Usergroups permissions).
Other possible statuses are:
On hold status is a way to record that an agent needs to act on the ticket, but that you’re waiting for something else to happen first. This often involves waiting for a third party.
For example, a user has raised a new ticket and you need to check something with one of your suppliers before you reply. You have emailed the supplier and you are waiting to hear back.
Leaving this ticket marked as awaiting agent isn’t quite right, since that would make it seem like there’s something you need to do to it now, whereas in fact you just have to wait for the supplier. The solution is to put it on hold.
You can think of on hold as a sub-status of awaiting agent.
If you have tickets on hold, there will be a checkbox in the top part of the filter pane of the Tickets app - check it to view the tickets on hold, uncheck it to view awaiting agent tickets as usual.
See the section on Ticket actions for more detail.
There are three ticket statuses that are used for tickets that are hidden from the main filters. These are:
These hidden statuses will not generate notifications and will not show up in searches. You can still find them by looking in special filters.
Depending on how your helpdesk is set up, new users may need to be validated before their tickets are shown in the main parts of the agent interface. You can still see tickets from unvalidated users in the Awaiting Validation filter of the Tickets app.
See the section on New users for more details.
There are two independent methods of validation that may be required:
You may get tickets created as a result of spam emails or web robots posting junk messages into the forms on the web portal. You can set the status of these tickets as spam.
Deskpro does not have its own automatic spam filter, but your admins may use another spam filter system combined with Deskpro features to mark suspected spam automatically.
Tickets set as spam can be seen in the Spam filter in the filter pane.
Tickets can also be deleted. They are then shown in the Recycle Bin in the filter pane. You might want to delete a ticket that is abusive or irrelevant (e.g. the user has sent it to the wrong company). You don’t need to manually delete resolved tickets - if there are problems
You can set a single ticket as spam or delete it using the Remove button.
You can use Mass actions to spam or delete tickets in bulk.
Tickets in the Spam filter or the Recycle Bin will be purged - deleted permanently - after a certain amount of time. Your admins set the time until automatic purging. It can be different for deleted and spam tickets. Admins can also purge all the deleted tickets manually.
You can always undelete or unspam a ticket before it is purged.
Before you undelete a ticket, you need to correct any errors, such as missing fields - otherwise the undelete button won’t work.