Your portal is a web-based interface for your users to interact with the helpdesk. It’s located at the top-level web address of your helpdesk, like https://yourcompany.deskpro.com orhttp://support.yourcompany.com.
Users can use the portal to submit tickets, view their previous tickets, change their account details, view content created by agents, leave comments and submit feedback items.
The basic settings of the portal are available at Admin > User Interface > Setup.
Here you can set a Brand Name (this name will only be visible internally within the helpdesk). Your first brand will be named 'Default' by default, but this can be customized here if you prefer.
If you choose to Enable Portal, you'll have the option to choose between Ticket & Publish Mode and Tickets-Only Mode.
- Switch to Tickets-Only Mode if you only want users to be able to view and manage their tickets in the portal.
- Enable Ticket & Publish Mode if you want any of your users to be able to use any of these portal sections: Knowledgebase, Downloads, News, Community and Guides (in addition to managing their tickets). If you want certain elements of the portal to only be available to particular users, this can also be achieved by defining Usergroup permissions.
- If you have no need for the portal and wish to disable it completely (e.g. you want to run an email-only helpdesk), untick the Enable Portal checkbox and save the change.
Limit Registration & Login
The option to 'Limit registration and login' allows you to restrict registration and access to your portal to whitelisted domains, whilst still allowing external or non-whitelisted users to submit tickets to your helpdesk via email.
This gives you greater control over who has access to your portal content and functions. In the example below, only people with an @deskpro.com email domain will have access to register via the portal or log in.
As soon as you have restricted registration and login using this feature, the 'Everyone' usergroup will be disabled automatically, meaning your portal access is restricted immediately. If the 'Everyone' usergroup was previously enabled, any content which was visible to logged-out guests before will no longer be visible publicly.
If an existing user attempts to log in with an email address that doesn't match a domain you have listed, or if someone new tries to register via the portal using an invalid email domain, they will receive an error.
This setting also affects other authentication options (e.g. LDAP, JWT, SSO, etc). If a user's email address isn't using an appropriate domain, log in will fail.
Published Content Settings
Here you can choose whether the options to leave user ratings and comments should be publicly visible for content you publish.
If you disable these settings, users won't be able to leave a comment or a rating on published content.
If you would like some users to be able to leave comments and ratings but restrict others from doing the same, you can keep these settings enabled but limit which groups of users can leave comments or ratings by editing your Usergroup permissions.