Admin Guide

Login lockout


Hackers may use automated password guessing software to try to break into an agent or user account on your helpdesk. This type of software tries to log into an account with a long list of common passwords in rapid succession.

To prevent attacks like this, the login lockout feature locks an account after a number of failed login attempts within a short period of time.

Note

The login lockout setting is separate from the setting to display a CAPTCHA for login attempts under Portal rate limiting.

By default, if there are 20 failed login attempts within 15 minutes, the account will be locked for 15 minutes, preventing further guessing.

Go to Admin> Setup > Rate Limiting to change the login lockout policy. You can set separate policies for agents and users. You can disable login lockout altogether, but we do not recommend it for security reasons.

Comments (0)

Add a comment

Add a comment

You need to log in before you can submit a comment.

Need a password reminder?