Permission Groups

Agents

Instead of making decisions about each of the dozens of Permissions for every one of your Agents, you can use Permission Groups to store sets of Permissions which you can quickly apply to multiple Agents. These are managed from Admin > Agents > Permission Groups.

../_images/perm-groups.png

There are built-in groups called “All Permissions” and “All Non-Destructive Permissions” which cannot be edited. As you’d expect, “All Permissions” grants every permission to an Agent. “All Non-Destructive Permissions” enables an Agent to use most helpdesk functions, except those that could lead to permanent loss of information (e.g. deleting a ticket).

Because you can’t edit these Groups, if you want an Agent to have more limited Permissions, you have to remove them from these Groups and add them to a New Group.

To create a new Permission Group, click the Add button.

Note

After you click Add, you can copy the Permission settings from an existing Group with the Gear Icon at the top right. This can save you time compared to starting from scratch.

../_images/clone-perms.png

In the Properties tab, enter a Group Name. Then click on the Permissions tab and set Permissions as you would for an individual Agent. You can also set Department Permissions for the Group.

Agents can belong to more than one Permission Group. If a Permission is granted by any of an Agent’s groups, the Agent can do the corresponding action.

You can select Permission Groups for an Agent from their Properties tab:

../_images/perm-agent-setgroups.png

or add Agents to a Permission Group from the Group’s Properties:

../_images/perm-group-setmembers.png

Permission overrides

You can combine individual Permission settings and Permission Groups.

For example, an Agent is a member of “All Non-Destructive Permissions”. That Permission Group does not give them Permission to delete assigned Tickets or mark them as Spam:

../_images/perms-override-before.png

Suppose you want to grant the Agent that Permission.

You can just click the Can delete and spam owned and team tickets toggle to add the Permission.

A Permission that’s not granted through a Permission Group is considered an override. To make it easier to work out which Agents have which Permissions, Deskpro alerts you if there are overrides, both in the Agent’s Permissions tab, and in the Agent Properties tab:

../_images/perms-override-after.png ../_images/perms-override-warning.png

Note

You can’t remove Permissions which are granted by a Permission Group; this is indicated by the lock symbols on the other Toggle controls.

Agent permissions are always additive - an Agent only needs to be granted a Permission by a single Group or an override to be able to use it.

To remove a locked Permission, you first need to remove the Agent from any Permission Groups that grant it.

Published: 23/03/2017

Last updated: 26/10/2017