While the update happens, the helpdesk will be unavailable for a few minutes (depending on the size of your database).
By default, this message will be displayed:
The helpdesk is undergoing routine maintenance. We will be back in about 10 minutes.
Under Setup > Settings, when you check Disable the helpdesk, you can edit the notice that users will see when the portal is disabled, including during the update.