Skip to main content

Reverting to a previous build after an update - Managing Deskpro On-Premise / Installation & Upgrades - Deskpro Support

Reverting to a previous build after an update

Authors list

Read this guide if you have updated your helpdesk and want to revert to the previous build you were using.

 

Prerequisites:

  • To restore your helpdesk to a previous version, you must have made a valid database backup before applying an upgrade.

 

1. Disable scheduled tasks

The first step is to disable scheduled tasks. This just ensures that no processes are running on the system while you are in the middle of restoring things.

 

2. Disable the helpdesk

Next, you should disable the helpdesk itself to make sure no users are trying to use the system.

You can do this by creating a file called data/helpdesk-offline.trigger

(You can find the data directory in the root of the Deskpro directory, but you may have moved it by specifying a different path in config.php.)

 

3. Restore Deskpro files

If you made a file backup during your upgrade, you can find it in data/backups, named with the current date in the format YYYY-mm-dd-files.zip. You should download the file and extract it, then upload all of the old files to your web server, overwriting any that already exist.

If you did not make a file backup, you can contact support@deskpro.com and ask for the ZIP of a pristine distribution of the files for your previous build. For users looking to revert from "new admin", the build you want is most likely #322 which you can download here. The process is the same: Download the ZIP from Deskpro, extract, then upload the files to your server.

Important Be sure you do not delete or overwrite your data/ directory or your config.php file. Just to be safe, we recommend you move data/ and config.php out of your Deskpro directory until after you have replaced all of the files, then move them back.

 

4. Restore the database

Next you need to restore your database. If you made a database backup during your upgrade, you can find it in data/backups named with the current date in the format YYYY-mm-dd-database.zip.

  • Create a new database. This will be used to restore into, leaving your current database untouched.
  • Restore the database. We recommend restoring the database directly from the command-line using the mysql client

    mysql -u<user> -p<pass> <your_new_db_name> < /path/to/backupname.sql

 

5. Update config.php

You need to edit config.php and change the DP_DATABASE_NAME option to use the new database you created above.

 

6. Re-enable the helpdesk


If any of these files exist, delete them:

  • /auto-update-is-running.trigger
  • /auto-update-status.php
  • /data/helpdesk-offline.trigger
  • /data/tmp/dql.cache

If you disabled scheduled tasks before in step 1, you should re-enable them now.

Hjælpsom Unyttig information

17 af 33 personer fandt denne side nyttig

Tilføj en kommentar

Please log in or register to submit a comment.

Er der brug for en adgangskodepåmindelse?